The article is part of the Security & Permissions page.




User Roles determine the access a User has in Restaurant365. The User Roles tab is used by Admin Users to view and adjust which Users are assigned to each User Role, as well as view the Password Requirements for each User Role. 


Important Note: User Role is synonymous with 'Security Role'. Learn more about primary and secondary Security Roles here


Additional User Permissions features will be added to this tab over the course of 2022. 



User Roles Tab



1) User Role Selector - This drop-down menu lists all User Roles. All subtabs display information based on the User Role selected here. 

  • Note: The quantity of Users assigned to each User Role is displayed next to the User Role name in the drop-down menu


2) Edit Menu - After selecting a User Role (#1), click the pencil icon to open the edit menu, which contains the following options:

  • Rename - Change the name of a Custom User Role. R365 User Roles cannot be renamed
  • Duplicate - Create a new User Role that is a copy of the selected User Role
  • Delete- Delete a Custom User Role. R365 User Roles cannot be deleted.
    • Note: Any Users assigned to the Custom User Role must be removed first before the User Role can be deleted.
  • Important Note: The edit menu is only available for Early Adopters who have Custom User Roles enabled

3) + ADD ROLE - Click to add a new Custom User Role

  • Important Note: The + ADD ROLE button is only available for Early Adopters who have Custom User Roles enabled

4) PERMISSIONS - List of all security permissions. This tab is used to view, assign, or remove security permissions

  • Important Note: The 'Permissions' tab is only available for Early Adopters who have Custom User Roles enabled

5) USERS - List of all Users. This tab is used to view and adjust the Users assigned to the selected User Role.


6) SETTINGS - Password Parameters by User Role. This tab is view-only.



Permissions Subtab


The Permissions subtab is where the User Permissions associated with the selected User Role can be viewed or adjusted. 


Learn more about managing Custom User Roles here


Note: This tab is only available for Early Adopters with Custom User Roles enabled. 



1) Search Bar - Enter two or more letters to filter the Permission Tree (#3) to only Permissions whose names contain the entered search

2) Expand/Collapse All - Click to expand the Permission Tree. If the Permission Tree is already fully expanded, click to collapse the Permission Tree. 


3) Permission Tree - User Permissions are organized into a tree structure. Permission Groups will contain all of the Permissions for nested Groups. 


4) Expander Arrow - Click to expand the Permission Group. If the Permission Group is already expanded, click to collapse the Permission Group


5) Permission Checkbox - Indicates if the Permission is included in the User Role. Click to assign or unassign the Permission. 

  • Note: R365 User Roles are not editable. All permissions assigned to these User Roles will be greyed out


6) Select All - Click to assign all Permissions to the selected User Role

7) Clear All - Click to remove all Permissions from the selected User Role


Checkbox Legend


The following icons are used for Permission Group checkboxes:


  • Empty Checkbox - None of the Permissions in the Group have been assigned


  • Blue Check Checkbox - All of the Permissions in the Group have been assigned.


  • Blue Dash Checkbox - Some, but not all, of the Permissions in the Group have been assigned.



The following icons are used for individual Permission checkboxes:


  • Blue Check Checkbox  - Permission is assigned; the User has access

 

  • Empty Blue Checkbox - Permission is not assigned; the User does not have access


  • Empty Grey Checkbox - Permission cannot be assigned because the 'View' Permission for the Group has not been granted.

Users Subtab



1) Assigned User Summary - Displays the quantity of Users assigned to the selected User Role.

2) Search Bar - Enter two or more letters to filter the listed Users to only Users whose names contain the entered search.


3) All Users / Above Store Users Filter - Choose to display 'All Users' or only 'Above Store Users'.

  • Note: 'Above Store Users' are Users who are not linked to an Employee Record.

 

4) Only Show Users with Role Toggle - When turned on, only Users who are assigned to the selected User Role will be displayed.


5) Assigned Checkbox - Assigns or unassigns the User to the User Role. When the checkbox is checked, the User is assigned to the User Role.  

  • Checked indicates that the User is assigned to the User Role
  • Unchecked indicates that the User is not assigned to the User Role

6) User Record Link - Click to open the User Record for the selected User.


Settings Subtab



The Settings tab displays the Password Parameters for the selected User Role.

This tab is view-only. Editing the User Role's Password Parameters is done on the 'Passwords' tab.