Depending on the User, you have the ability to either Delete or Deactivate a User that no longer needs access to R365 in your organization. Both options, deleting or deactivating, takes place in different parts of R365. Additionally, a User can only be deleted if they have not created any transactions in R365.
On the contrary, if you want to remove an Employee's access to R365, they will need to be marked as 'Inactive'. Click here to learn how to mark Employees as 'Inactive'.
Users with one of the following Security Roles have the ability to delete and/or deactivate a User:
- Full Access (Primary)
- User Setup (Secondary)
Delete a User from R365
This action can only occur in the R365 Setup Assistant, on the 'Users' Step of the 'Users & Security' Section. The User must not have created an transactions in order to be deleted. If they have created transactions, the system will display an error if a User attempts to delete them:
To Delete a User that meets the requirements stated above, follow these steps:
- Navigate to the 'User' Step in the 'Users & Security' Section in the R365 Setup Assistant
- Locate the User that will be deleted in the Users list, then click the delete icon on the User row
- The system will prompt a confirmation. Click 'OK', and then the User will be permanently deleted
- Please Note: this is a permanent deletion and the User will not be able to be restored. A new User would need to be created
- Continue this process for any other Users that need to be deleted, and then close the R365 Setup Assistant
Deactivate a User
This is the more likely solution for Users that have used R365 for any given period of time. Most User will have likely created a transaction at some point and therefore cannot be deleted. These Users must then be deactivated.
To deactivate a User, follow these steps:
- Navigate to the 'Users' list in the 'Administration' subsection of the Accounting module
- Locate and open the User record that will be deactivated
- On the 'General' tab of the record, check the 'Inactive' checkbox to deactivate the User
- Save the record. The User is now deactivated and can no longer access R365
- Optional Step - If you wish, you can additionally manually change the User's password, and remove all Security Roles and Location access to the User record, however this is not necessary as 'Inactive' will never permit the User to authenticate to R365.