You can delete a GL Account or mark it as inactive, depending on what works best for your organization; however, due to the way the system is setup, it is recommended to delete any unused GL Accounts.
- Delete the GL Account - The GL Account can be easily deleted by hovering over the 'Save' menu and clicking 'Delete'. This will remove the GL Account from your instance.
- Mark the Account as Inactive- There is not a designated 'Inactive' checkbox on the GL Account, but it can have restricted use in your instance. To do so, complete the following steps:
- Change GL Account Name - Include the 'DO NOT USE' phrase after the GL Account Name to make other Users aware that this GL Account should not be applied to any transaction in the system
- Check the 'Subtotal - Disable Entry' Checkbox - Checking this will prevent this account from being displayed on AP Invoice Screens
- Uncheck the 'Available to Managers' Checkbox - If this is checked already, uncheck it so that no non-Accounting Users will be able to select this account when entering invoices or recording Paid Outs on the Daily Sales Summary
- Check the 'Control Account - Prevent Manual Journal Entries' Checkbox - Checking this will prevent this GL Account from appearing in the Account Lookup Selector in the Journal Entry screen when a Journal Entry is manually created