This article reviews the Location Groups feature. 


Location Groups are used to spread AP Invoices and Journal Entries across multiple Locations, limit which Locations can use specific Purchased Items and Recipes, and run combined reports for groups of Locations. 


Article Topics


Learn more about how Location Groups are used throughout R365:


Security


The Permissions listed here are associated with Location Groups. These Permissions can be added to Custom User Roles or single Users. Learn more about managing Permissions and Custom User Roles here.

Location Group Permissions are found in the Permission Tree as follows:

  • Administration
    • Location Groups
      • View Location Groups
      • Edit Location Groups
      • Create Location Groups
      • Assign Location Groups
      • Delete Location Groups

The Permission Access Report can be used to determine which User Roles or Users already have these Permissions assigned to them.


Back to Top


Navigation


When in the Classic Experience, Location Groups can be accessed from the 'Administration' drop-down menu in the top navigation bar.


In Smart Ops, Location Groups can be accessed from the 'Items' page by clicking the 'Item Location Groups' button. 



Back to Top


'Accounting' and 'Operations' Location Groups


Location Groups must be allowed for use in 'Accounting' and/or 'Operations' before they will be available to Users. All Location Groups will be available in 'My Reports'.



Location Groups allowed for use in 'Accounting' will be available for AP Invoices and Journal Entries. These Location Groups can contain all categories of Locations, including 'Accounting Entities'.


Location Groups allowed for use in 'Operations' will be available for Purchased Items and Recipes. These Location Groups cannot contain 'Accounting Entities'. If the Location Group contains an 'Accounting Entity', the 'Operations' checkbox will be disabled. 


This configuration is accessible in the 'Settings' menu after the Location Group has been selected.



Back to Top


Location Groups Sidesheet

 


1) Save - Click to save all changes to all Location Groups

 

2) Location Group Tree - Listing of Location Groups
 

3) Create New Group - Click the plus iconto add a new top-level Location Group


4) Settings - Click the settings icon to configure the Location Group for use in 'Accounting' and/or 'Operations'

  • Note: Locations with 'Accounting Entities' cannot be configured for use in 'Operations'


5) +Add - Click to assign Locations to the Location Group
 

6) Search - Filters the Assigned Locations list for Locations whose Names or Numbers contain the entered search term
 

7) Select All - Click to select all Assigned Locations (#9)
 

8) Clear - Click to deselect selected Locations
 

9) Assigned Locations - List of Locations assigned to the selected Location Group

  • Click the checkbox to remove the selected Location

10) Remove All - Click to remove all Locations from the Location Group


 

Back to Top


Location Group Structure

 

Location Group Tree

 

Three layers of Location Groups are available; this assists in keeping the Location Groups organized. 

  • Parent - Indicated with a building icon
    • Subgroup Level 1 - Indicated with a right-angled arrow icon
      • Subgroup Level 2 - Indicated with a right-angled arrow icon

 

Graphical user interface, application

Description automatically generated

 

 

Back to Top



Creating and Editing Location Groups

 

Graphical user interface, text, application, email

Description automatically generated


 

 

Creating Parent Groups
 

To create a new Parent Location Group, click the  button.

 

Graphical user interface, text, application, email

Description automatically generated



  1. Enter the Location Group Name
    • Note: Names must be unique and cannot be the same as any other Location Group or Subgroup.
  2. Enter a description (optional)
  3. Click 'Apply' to create the Location Group, or click 'Cancel' to exit without creating the Location Group
  4. Click Saveto save and apply changes.
    • Note: Location Groups must have Locations assigned to them to be available for use.

 

Creating Subgroups

 

To create a new Subgroup, hover over a Location Group, click themenu icon, then select 'Add Subgroup'

 

Graphical user interface, text, application, chat or text message

Description automatically generated

 

The New Location Group form will open


Graphical user interface, text, application, email

Description automatically generated

  1. Enter the Location Group Name
    • Note: Names must be unique and cannot be the same as any other Location Group or Subgroup. 
  2. Enter a description (optional) 
  3. Click 'Apply' to create the Location Group, or 'Cancel' to exit without creating the Location Group
  4. Click Saveto save and apply changes.
    • Note: Location Groups must have Locations assigned to them to be available for use.

 

Assigning Locations


 Select the desired Location Group, then click the + Add button. The Location selection drop-down menu will open.

  • Important Note: If a Location Group has one or more Subgroups, Locations can only be assigned to the lowest-level Subgroup(s). 
     

Graphical user interface, application

Description automatically generated

 

Select all desired Locations, then clickApplyto assign the Locations to the Location Group.

  • Note: Only Locations that are available for assignment will be displayed.

 

 

Click Save to save and apply changes.

 

Removing Locations

 

To remove a Location from a Location Group, select the desired Location Group, hover over the desired Location, then click the trashcan  icon that appears.

 

Graphical user interface, text, application, email

Description automatically generated

 

Click Save to save and apply changes.


 

Deleting Location Groups

 

Only Location Groups without Locations assigned to them can be deleted. Follow these steps to delete a Location Group:

  1. Select the Location Group
  2. Remove all Locations from it
  3. Click the  menu icon
  4. Click 'Delete Group'

    Graphical user interface, application

Description automatically generated

  5. Click Save to save and apply changes.

 

Important Note: Purchased Items and Recipe Items that have the deleted Location Group assigned to them will have the deleted Location Group automatically unassigned. If no other Location Groups are assigned to the Item, the Item will automatically be assigned to 'All Locations'


Back to Top



This article was updated and rewritten in Q1 of 2023. View the documentation for Classic Location Groups here